Architecture prize for the best brick buildings in Germany

Innovative solutions are in demand for the German Brick Award 2024

The Federal Association of the German Brick and Tile Industry (BVZi) is once again organising the German Brick Award. From 2 April to 31 July 2024, architecture and planning offices can submit their work via the new online portal. We are looking for outstanding brick buildings that impress with their resource-saving construction and creative use of brick as a material. The prize money totals 20,000 euros. New: For the first time, a student prize will also be awarded.

The German Brick Award is entering its sixth round: in 2024, the focus will be on impressive, creatively realised brick architecture that is of lasting importance for building culture. Energy efficiency and the responsible use of resources are more important today than ever before, which is why monolithic exterior wall constructions with highly insulating backing bricks are a focal point of the German Brick Award 2024. The architecture prize will also focus on buildings with multi-layer wall constructions with backing or facing bricks.


As part of the German Brick Award 2024, an independent jury of experts will recognise the best brick buildings with the following awards, which are endowed with a total prize money of 20,000 euros:

  • One main prize for monolithic construction

  • One main prize for multi-layer construction

  • Five special prizes (special prize for young talent, special prize for residential construction, special prize for neighbourhoods, special prize for simple construction, special prize for existing buildings)

  • Several commendations


Application possible until 31 July 2024 via the new online portal

Architecture and planning offices can apply as individual applicants or as a consortium from 2 April to 31 July 2024 (12:00 noon) via the completely new and intuitively designed online portal. Brick construction projects completed between 1 August 2020 and 31 July 2024 are eligible to take part.

The six-member expert jury will decide on the awards in October 2024. The award ceremony and exhibition opening will take place on 17 January 2025 at the Haus der Architektur (House of Architecture) in Munich.


New student award: Spotlight on creative use of brick as a building material

The German architecture university landscape is also characterised by its creative use of brick as a building material. This is why the BVZi 2024 is also awarding a student prize for the first time, for which students from all German architecture faculties can apply. The prerequisite is that their supervisors nominate them and actively support their participation. Stegreife, designs, bachelor's and master's theses on the subject of bricks that were completed between the summer semester 2021 and the summer semester 2024 are eligible. Participation is free of charge and possible until 7 August 2024 (12:00 noon). The prize money totals 4,000 euros, and the supervisors will also receive a share of the prize.


About the German Brick Award:

The German Brick Award has been awarded regularly since 2011 to honour particularly high-quality brick buildings in Germany - in 2024 for the sixth time. The student prize is new this year. The award is organised by the Federal Association of the German Brick and Tile Industry (BVZi) e.V. This year, the award is once again under the patronage of the Federal Ministry of Housing, Urban Development and Building. The German Brick Award will be presented every three years from 2024.


Further information on the German Brick Award can be found at:

Related articles:

Jury of the Erich Mendelsohn Prize 2023 for Brick Architecture appointed

International architecture panel selects the best buildings made of brick

In the 15 years of its existence, the Brick Architecture Award has gained international relevance and thus reflects the wide variety of design possibilities with the traditional as well as sustainable...

Issue 4/2018

Wienerberger Brick Award 2018 – A tribute to high-quality brick architecture

In Vienna at the end of May, the Wienerberger Brick Award was presented for the eighth time. This year, the award again recognizes outstanding brick architecture and shows the diverse ways in which...


The Future of Brick Architecture

The material brick has accompanied mankind for thousands of years. Almost every region around the globe has developed its own brick tradition over time. Again and again, there have been innovative...

Issue 6/2012 Wienerberger Brick Award 2012

Five international architects awarded for outstanding brick buildings

The winners of the ­Wienerberger Brick Award 2012 have been announced: Five international architects were awarded for their outstanding work, for projects using brick as a construction material. The...

Issue 07/2014

Fritz Höger Award 2014 presented to outstanding brick architecture worldwide

On 19 September 2014, the winning projects were presented with the Fritz Höger Award 2014 at the German Architecture Centre in Berlin. With 504 submitted and more than 70 nominated projects, the...