Deutsche Messe taking entries for Hermes Award

All companies and organizations exhibiting at Hannover Messe or participating in the trade fair in any other way have until 19 February to submit an entry for the Hermes Award, the world’s most prestigious industrial technology prize. When judging entries for the award, the emphasis will be on the following criteria: degree of technological innovation, benefit for industry, environment and society, economic viability and readiness for implementation. Hermes Award 2019 (Photo: Deutsche Messe)

Hermes Award 2019 (Photo: Deutsche Messe)
Chaired by Dr. Reimund Neugebauer, President of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, an independent jury will nominate three products for the Hermes Award from the entries submitted. The winner will then be selected from this shortlist and announced at the Opening Ceremony for Hannover Messe 2020 on 19 April. In the presence of Germany's Federal Chancellor Merkel and Indonesia's President Widodo, the award will be presented by the Federal Minister for Education and Research, Anja Karliczek, who will also give a speech.
For the first time, the jury can also award an additional prize if an entry is deemed to meet certain criteria in an outstanding way – for example, a Hermes start-up award might be presented. All the products nominated will be showcased at Hannover Messe in a special display in Hall 25. Serving as the official patrons of the Hermes Award are Federal Minister for Education and Research Anja Karliczek and the Premier of the Federal State of Lower Saxony, Stephan Weil.
Deutsche Messe

Related articles:

04.01.2010 News: Hannover Messe 2010 (19 - 23 April) - Hermes Award 2010 – Deutsche Messe stages technology award

In 2010 Deutsche Messe will once again present the Hermes Award, its internationally acclaimed technology prize, which is worth a total of 100,000 euros to the winners. The award is bestowed on...


Deutsche Messe announces Hermes Award 2018

For the 15th time, Deutsche Messe is offering the Hermes Award – one of the world’s most coveted technology prizes, the competition for which is open to companies and institutions who are exhibiting...

9/2011 International prize for technological achievement

Hermes Award 2011 goes to Krautzberger for innovative steam spraying system

The Hermes Award is one of the most prestigious international prizes for technological achievement, and this year‘s winner is Krautzberger GmbH ( ) based in Eltville. The company...


Jury of the Erich Mendelsohn Prize 2023 for Brick Architecture appointed

International architecture panel selects the best buildings made of brick

In the 15 years of its existence, the Brick Architecture Award has gained international relevance and thus reflects the wide variety of design possibilities with the traditional as well as sustainable...


ECREF looks forward to entries for the Gustav Eirich Award

At the International Colloquium on Refractories in Aachen on 28 September 2016 the GEA Gustav Eirich Award will be awarded for the eighth time. The aim of the ECREF European Centre for Refractories...