Announcement of Nominees

A record number of 789 projects from 53 countries has been submitted to the Brick Award 22. The 10th Brick Award has had the highest number of entries in its history, demonstrating the internationality of this architecture prize. The selection for the 50 shortlisted projects in the five categories took place in summer.

Five categories are assigned to the Brick Award, within each of them a category price will be awarded, next to the overall winner. The winning projects in those five categories “Feeling at home”, “Living together”, “Sharing public spaces”, “Working together” and “Building outside the box” as well as the overall winner of the Award will be announced at the official Brick Award ceremony in Vienna, June 2022.


Internationality of the

architecture prize

For the Brick Award 22 a strong European focus can be observed, 34 of the 50 shortlisted projects having been submitted by European architects, 12 coming from Asian bureaus and 4 Latin American nominations. More in detail, the shortlisted projects are allocated to the following categories:

Feeling at home: 8 projects

Living together: 12 projects

Sharing public spaces: 13 projects

Working together: 8 projects

Building outside the box: 9 projects

All 50 nominees can already be found on the Brick Award website.

Five international renown architects made up the jury of the Brick Award: Ingrid van der Heijden/Netherlands, architect and founding partner of Civic Architects, Jesper Gottlieb/Denmark, architect and founding partner of Gottfried Paludan Architects, Tina Gregoric/Slovenia, architect and founding partner of Dekleva Gregoric Architects, Wilfried Kuehn/Germany, architect and founding partner of Kuehn Malvezzi, Brigitte Shim/Canada, architect and founding partner of Shim-Sutcliffe Architects in Toronto.

All selected projects will be published in the Brick 22 book in summer 2022.


Related articles:

Issue 2012-6 Wienerberger Brick Award 2012

Five international architects awarded for outstanding brick buildings

The winners of the ­Wienerberger Brick Award 2012 have been announced: Five international architects were awarded for their outstanding work, for projects using brick as a construction material. The...


Brick Award 2022: Submissions at record level

The Brick Award jury will soon have to decide on the record number of 789 architectural projects submitted from 53 countries worldwide. Compared to 2020, this is an increase in submissions of 22...


Fritz-Höger-Preis 2020: The winners 2020

Now it's official: the best brick projects have made it from the shortlist to the podium of the Fritz Höger Award 2020 for Brick Architecture. In addition to Bronze awards the awarding of the Grand...


Erich Mendelsohn Prize 2023 for Brick Architecture announced

With the number and quality of the expected submissions from all regions of the world, the Erich Mendelsohn Prize will once again be one of the largest German architecture prizes. The competition is...

Issue 2013-12 austrian brick and roof award 13/14 presented

High-calibre clay brick and roof architecture in Austria

In a total of four categories the “austrian brick and roof award 13/14” was presented by the Association of Austrian Clay Brick and Roofing Tile Producers (VÖZ) in cooperation with Tondach...