Wienerberger Brick Award 2012

Five international architects awarded for outstanding brick buildings

The winners of the ­Wienerberger Brick Award 2012 have been announced: Five international architects were awarded for their outstanding work, for projects using brick as a construction material. The five-person jury chose South ­African architect ­Peter Rich as grand-prize winner and winner of the category “Special Solution with Brick” for the Mapungubwe Interpretation Centre in South ­Africa. The “Non-­Residential Building” category was won by the ­Scottish architectural firm Nord for its innovative electrical substation for the 2012 Olympic Games in London. Architect Bart Lens convinced the jury in the “Single Family House” category with his project titled The Rabbit Hole. The ­Portuguese architects and brothers Francisco and Manuel Aires Mateus received the “Residential Building” Brick Award for their “house for elderly people” in Alcácer do Sal. While in the final category, “Conversion”, Slovakia‘s Pavol Panák scored a win with his personal architectural, brick-built hideaway.
The Brick Award, which has been presented in a two-year cycle by the world‘s largest brick producer, recognizes particularly successful examples of modern brick architecture. The award is endowed with a total of Euro 27 000 in prize money. “With the Wienerberger Brick Award, we want to cast a spotlight on the innovative and versatile use of brick in today‘s modern architecture”, says Wienerberger CEO Heimo Scheuch. “All of the projects give you a sense of the instinctive feel with which the architects showed consideration for the local environment. This is also reflected in the choice of materials.”
International architecture critics and architecture journalists submitted nominations for scores of outstanding buildings constructed using clay products. A total of 50 projects from 28 countries on five continents were shortlisted and the final decision was made by the international jury composed of architects Plamen Bratkov (Bulgaria), Rudolf Finsterwalder (Germany), Hrvoje ­Hrabak (Croatia), John ­Foldbjerg Lassen (Denmark) and Zhang Lei (China).

Details on the award-winning and nominated projects can be found in the bilingual book “brick ‘12” published by Callwey Publishers as an accompaniment to the Wienerberger Brick Award.


Related articles:

Issue 4/2018

Wienerberger Brick Award 2018 – A tribute to high-quality brick architecture

In Vienna at the end of May, the Wienerberger Brick Award was presented for the eighth time. This year, the award again recognizes outstanding brick architecture and shows the diverse ways in which...

Issue 5/2016

Honouring innovative brick architecture from around the world

The Wienerberger Brick Award has offered a unique platform for the recognition of outstanding brick architecture of international quality since 2004. The use of Wienerberger products is not a...

Issue 04/2022 Brick Award 2022

Outstanding brick architecture honoured for the tenth time in Vienna

On 9 June 2022, the Brick Award was awarded in Vienna for the tenth time. The winners were presented the following day at a video press conference broadcast online. The internationally recognised...

240 pages of award-winning architecture

Wienerberger Brick Award 2012

Proven material, visionary architecture “Brick’12 is the fifth edition of our book series launched in 2004 to coincide with the Wienerberger Brick Award. The publication highlights the innovative...

Issue 2/2017

International competition rewards outstanding brick architecture

For the eighth time now, the Wienerberger Brick Award in 2018 is honouring the most creative examples of modern and innovative brick architecture. Ceramic products have to play an outstanding role in...