240 pages of award-winning architecture

Wienerberger Brick Award 2012

On 3 May 2012, Wienerberger presented its international Brick Award by awarding five outstanding brick architecture projects. The accompanying book “Brick’12” features the award-winning buildings as well as the 45 nominated projects from 28 countries and five continents, presented by renowned architecture writers from around the world. The bilingual 240-page book with over 400 colour photographs and building plans is being published by Callwey Publishers and is available in selected bookshops from 15 May 2012.

Proven material, visionary architecture “Brick’12 is the fifth edition of our book series launched in 2004 to coincide with the Wienerberger Brick Award. The publication highlights the innovative use of brick in architecture today,” says Wienerberger CEO Heimo Scheuch.

The articles were written by some 50 of the acknowledged authors and experts in the world of architecture, from architecture journalist Rory Olcayto to book author Falk Jaeger to lecturer and curator of architecture events Rùta Leitanaite. Some authors have contributed to the book series from the beginning and often visit the brick buildings in person in order to get a first-hand look. The Wienerberger Brick Award 2012 was presented in the categories “Special Solution with Brick”, “Single-Family House”, “Non-Residential Building”, “Residential Building” and “Conversion”.

Brick+: New magazine supplement with Chipperfield and Jelinek

New this year is the magazine supplement Brick+ which can be found in the second part of the book featuring current developments in modern brick architecture. The architecture magazine reports on the expansion of the Tate Modern in London by Swiss architects Herzog & de Meuron and their use of brick as a construction material. Brick+ also features a profile of architect David Chipperfield, who calls himself a friend of “good old brick” and reveals how he recovers from the stress and strain of the architect’s life in Galicia. A further highlight is an essay by Literature Nobel Laureate Elfriede Jelinek about ceramic artist Kurt Ohnsorg.

Highest quality

“The book is more than a coffee table book of the nominated projects. It is a comprehensive reference work for students, architects and fans of architecture, a must on any well-stocked bookshelf,” says Heimo Scheuch, clearly impressed by the new edition of “Brick’12” accompanying this year’s Wienerberger Brick Award. “Thanks to the untiring dedication, organisation and coordination of the many contributors, we have – in a period of just one year – again published a work that demonstrates the highest level of quality from both a journalistic and a design point of view.”

Swiss daily “Neue Züricher Zeitung” called the first edition a book that demonstrates works which, because of their formal beauty and technical precision, stand out far above the average, everyday architectural product. The German architecture journal “Deutsches Architektenblatt” called the book a feast for the eyes with very lively text. “Brick’12 will meet the previous, positive feedback and will definitely satisfy fans of architecture and critics”, says Heimo Scheuch pleased about the new book.

More information about the Brick Award 2012 is available at http://www.wienerberger.com/brick-award and about the previous awards from 2004, 2006, 2008 and 2010 at www.brick10.com.


Related articles:

22.04.2010 News: Wienerberger Brick Award 2010 - Innovative and creative brick architecture recognised for the fourth consecutive time

Wienerberger AG handed out its annual Brick Awards, together with 21,000 Euros in prize money. Two hundred and sixty projects from 32 countries were submitted by architecture critics for this year’s...

Issue 4/2016 Five winning projects

Award-winning Austrian brick architecture at austrian brick and roof award 15 | 16

At the Wienerberger Architecture Symposium 2016 on the topic “Clay Brick as a Building Material. Changing Architecture”, which took place at the Secession in Vienna on 7 April, outstanding examples...

Issue 6/2012 Wienerberger Brick Award 2012

Five international architects awarded for outstanding brick buildings

The winners of the ­Wienerberger Brick Award 2012 have been announced: Five international architects were awarded for their outstanding work, for projects using brick as a construction material. The...

Issue 06/2010 Wienerberger Brick Award 2010

Awards for innovative and creative brick architecture for the 4th time

Wienerberger AG presented its annual “Brick Award”, together with a total of 21?000 euros in prize money for the fourth time. 260 projects from 32 countries were submitted by architecture critics...

Issue 5/2016

Honouring innovative brick architecture from around the world

The Wienerberger Brick Award has offered a unique platform for the recognition of outstanding brick architecture of international quality since 2004. The use of Wienerberger products is not a...